Finalists revealed for Ottawa Book Awards

Prizes include $7,500 for each winner and $1,000 for finalists.

content of the article

The City of Ottawa has announced 14 finalists for its annual awards recognizing books by local authors.

advertising 2

content of the article

“This year’s finalists take readers on a journey through deeply personal poetry, poignant narrative, compelling human drama and haunting biography to explore transformative periods in history and rediscover familiar worlds,” the city said Tuesday.

content of the article

2022 Ottawa Book Awards finalists include:

English fiction

• Emily Austin — Everyone in this room will be dead someday, Simon & Schuster Canada

• Jacqueline Bourque – Reattribution of Bricks, Mansfield Press

• Mark Frutkin – The artist and the assassin, the quill of the porcupine

• Wayne Ng — Letters from Johnny, Guernica Editions Inc

• David O’Meara – Crowds on the Radar, Coach House Books

English non-fiction book

Nathan M Greenfield – Anything But a Still Life: The Art and Life of Molly Lamb and Bruno Bobak, Goose Lane Editions

advertising 3

content of the article

• Mike Blanchfield and Fen Osler Hampson – The Two Michaels: Innocent Canadian Captives and High Stakes Espionage in the US-China Cyber ​​War, Sutherland House

Also Read :  You don't have to read the whole article: "Reader's Block" author says stop shaming over reading

• Diana Nemiroff – Women at the helm: How Jean Sutherland Boggs, Hsio-yen Shih and Shirley L. Thomson transformed the National Gallery of Canada, McGill-Queen’s University Press

Brodie Ramin — The Perfect Medicine, Dundurn Press

• Barry K. Wilson — Sir Mackenzie Bowell: A Canadian Prime Minister Forgotten by History, Loose Cannon Press

French fiction

• Veronique-Marie Kaye — Marjorie à Montreal, Editions Prize de parole

• Eric Mathieu — In the solitude of Terminal 3, La mèche

• Blaise Ndala — Dans le ventre du Congo, Mémoire d’encrier

• Michele Vinet — Le Malaimant, Editions L’Interligne

advertising 4

content of the article

Learn more about the shortlisted books and their authors online at the Ottawa Book Awards website.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony on October 19th at 7pm at the Meridian Theaters at 101 Centrepointe Dr. announced. Prizes include $7,500 for each winner and $1,000 for finalists.

The list of previous winners includes Conyer Clayton, Kagiso Lesego Molope, Suzanne Evans, Henry Beissel, John Metcalf, Charlotte Gray, Andrée Christensen, Véronique Sylvain, Monia Mazigh, Pierre-Luc Landry, Alain Bernard Marchand, Margaret Michèle Cook and Nicole V. Champau.

Also Read :  An Official World Golf Ranking committee member said LIV Golf should be ranked

The Archibald Lampman Award for Poetry and Le Prix AAOF de littérature jeunesse 2022, sponsored by the Association des Auteures et Auteurs de l’Ontario français, will also be presented at the October 19 ceremony.

Display 1


Postmedia strives to maintain a vibrant but civilized forum for discussion and encourages all readers to share their views on our articles. Comments may take up to an hour to be moderated before they appear on the site. We ask that you keep your comments relevant and respectful. We’ve turned on email notifications – you’ll now receive an email when you get a reply to your comment, there’s an update on a comment thread you follow, or when a user you follow comments follows. For more information and details on how to customize your email settings, see our Community Guidelines.

Source link