Don’t miss the inflation relief check deadlines in these states

The time could expire to claim your inflation relief check from the state in which you live.

Several states have been sending out tax refund checks in recent months — whether as anti-inflation legislation or as part of the automatic excess tax refund required by state law.

However, in some states, eligibility is conditional on filing a tax return by October 17.

States with deadlines in October

Colorado

Most residents have already received a one-time tax refund, paid as a mailed check totaling $750 for individual applicants and $1,500 for joint applicants.

Coloradons who have not yet filed their 2021 tax returns can still receive this check if they file before October 17. Late claimants who submit before that deadline will receive their refund by Jan. 31, 2023, according to the state’s Colorado Cash Back website.

Georgia

Residents can receive a one-time tax refund if they had a tax liability in the 2020 tax year totaling up to $250 for single parents, $375 for heads of household, and $500 for couples filing together.

Also Read :  Fed officials stare down markets, say inflation is top focus

To qualify, residents must file both their 2020 and 2021 tax returns by April 18, 2022. However, if an extension has been filed for the 2021 tax year, you have until October 17, 2022 to file your 2021 tax return, according to a government FAQ.

Maine

Adult residents who file 2021 tax returns by October 31, 2022 are eligible to receive relief checks for $850 mailed to their homes. Eligibility is limited to those earning $100,000 or less for single parents, $150,000 or less for heads of household, and $200,000 or less for couples applying together.

Visit the Office of Gov’s website for more information. Janet Mills.

Also Read :  The markets have had a kill — now they’re circling for another leg to gnaw – POLITICO

Massachusetts

Automatic tax refunds based on state law are sent to residents by check or direct deposit in November. The exact amount has yet to be determined, but it will account for 13% of each resident’s income tax liability in 2021, according to a government website.

To be eligible, you must have filed a 2021 state tax return on or before the due date for your return or renewal, which for most people is Oct. 17, 2022, the state website notes.

States with deadlines coming up later this year

Hawaii

Idaho

The state has diverted a state tax surplus into bonus rebates for residents who filed income taxes for both the 2020 and 2021 tax years.

Bonus rebate is $300 for individual applicants and $600 for joint applicants or 10% of income taxes paid for 2020, whichever is greater. Another tax refund earlier this year pays out $75 per taxpayer and each dependent or 12% of income taxes paid, whichever is greater.

Also Read :  GITEX GLOBAL 2022 gathers world's leaders to challenge and collaborate in the Web 3.0 economy

To receive the rebates, residents must file their 2020 and 2021 tax returns by December 31, 2022. Visit the Idaho State Tax Commission website for more details.

South Carolina

South Carolina residents who are taxable on their 2021 tax returns can receive a rebate of up to $700. This amount is an estimate because the actual amount will be calculated by the State Treasury Department sometime after October 17, the original cut-off date for claiming the rebate.

However, due to Hurricane Ian, the IRS has pushed back the deadline for late applicants to February 15, 2023. Visit the South Carolina Department of Treasury website for more information.

Virginia

Why NYC Rents Just Got Out of Control

Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.