Business Honors for November 13, 2022 | Business

William Henry Shane Jr. Has been named as the inaugural recipient of the Jefferson Community Foundation’s “Jefferson First” Philanthropy Award.

The award recognizes an individual who made a significant contribution to Jefferson Parish through his philanthropy, community service, actions, talents and dedication.

Shane co-founded the Favrot & Shane Company with HM “Tim” Favrot and is now one of the largest owners of multifamily residential real estate in the state.

Shane first formed what became known as the Jefferson Economic Development Commission, or JEDCO, serving as chairman. He was one of three founding members of Greater New Orleans Inc., a regional economic development alliance serving the 10-parish region of Southeast Louisiana.


William “Bill” BalhoffPostlethwaite and the former Managing Director and CEO of Netterville has been awarded the 2022 Gold Medal Award of Distinction, the highest honor bestowed by the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants.

Also Read :  Yellen to tout Biden technology investments at Virginia business incubator

Since 1944, the award has been presented to CPAs whose impact on the accounting profession has been particularly noteworthy.

Balhoff has been instrumental in helping P&N grow into the largest Louisiana-based accounting firm. Both Accounting Today and CPA Magazine named him among the “Top 100 Most Influential People in the Accounting Profession”. The Society of Louisiana Certified Public Accountants recognized Balhoff with the LCPA Life Member Award earlier this year.


Walter E. Blasey Jr. Was named 2022 Maritime Person of the Year by the Propeller Club of the US Port of New Orleans.

Blasey was recognized for his contributions to the maritime industry of Greater New Orleans.

He is the founder and owner of Blessy Marine Services in Harahan. Blasey started the company in 1978. It now has over 750 personnel operating an inland tank barge and towing vessel fleet.

Also Read :  Binance-FTX buyout sends shockwaves through crypto markets

In 2019, Blasey was awarded a Coast Guard Meritorious Public Service Award to honor his contribution to the inland maritime transportation industry.

He earned a bachelor’s in civil engineering and a law degree from Tulane University. The university later presented Blasey with a Lifetime Achievement Award for the class of 1967.


Annette DroddyExecutive Director of the Louisiana Dental Association, was inducted as an Honorary Fellow of the International College of Dentists.

The ICD is a dental honor society that recognizes outstanding professional achievements.

Droddy began his career as the Director of Communications and Public Affairs at the LDA in 2003 and was promoted to Assistant Executive Director in 2011.


Louisiana Association of Business and Industry has announced the winners of its 2022 Free Enterprise Awards.

E. Frederick Preuss Jr., Breazeale, a partner at Sachse & Wilson, won the Ed Steimel Achievement Award. The award honors LABI’s long-standing membership and service and recognizes individuals who have put extraordinary time and effort into improving the quality of life in Louisiana.

Also Read :  Elon Musk manages free speech versus 'hellscape' at Twitter

heroine Awarded as the Largest Company of the Year. Gulf Coast Bank & Trust Company Won the Small Company of the Year Award.

terry baughThe CFO of D&J Construction was named Businessperson of the Year. jacob landryThe founder and president of Urban South Brewing honored as Young Businessperson of the Year.

BASF Corporation Won the award as the biggest producer of the year. Elmer Candy Corporation Awarded as Miniature Producer of the Year.

ochsner health Awarded as Workforce Innovator of the Year. The award recognizes those who have taken education or workforce development initiatives to bridge the employment gap.

Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce Was named Economic Development Partner of the Year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.