All the highest run-scorers in Men’s T20 World Cup history

Led by batting greats, each edition of the T20 World Cup has been blessed with batting brilliance on the biggest stages.

Since its inception, the marquee event has seen a new star climb at every men’s ICC T20 World Cup to take the title of top scorer.

Brilliance with racquet consistency has often been found to be a key factor in a team’s success in a tournament. A look back through the history books of the T20WC promises that the roster will be an elite company of players.

Here we take a look at the best runner from each edition of the T20 World Cup.

Matthew Hayden (T20 World Championship 2007)

A strong and intimidating force in Australia’s line-up, Matthew Hayden wreaked havoc in the opening edition of the tournament in South Africa, toning the most boundaries (32 fours and 10 sixes) while amassing 265 runs in six games.

The ‘classic Hayden’, stepping down the course and going over the inner circle regardless of pace or turn, was seen as he hit an undefeated 67* (43) in game two against rivals England.

Hayden had developed a habit of going unbeaten in run chases in the tournament, this time dominating Bangladesh with a 73* from 48 ball followed by a 58* from 38 ball against Sri Lanka that took Australia into a semi-final match against India.

Hayden was back in the thick of it as he was chasing for a position in the final when he made 62 deliveries from 47 but was eventually castled by S Sreesanth in what ended in India’s victory.

Tillakaratne Dilshan (2009 T20 World Championship)

Miles ahead of his rivals, Dilshan was the batter’s choice in the tournament as he also won the Player of the Tournament award.

Also Read :  Russia Scrambles to Reconnect Supply Lines to Crimea After Bridge Explosion

T20 cricket, often made exciting with big bats and massive sixes, was stunned by Dilshan’s ability to find gaps and boldly ‘scoop’ the ball as he found the limit 50 times, 18 times more than the second most (Jacques Kalis).

From the start, Dilshan was in the thick of it with consecutive half centuries, although his first player of the game to win the tournament came against Pakistan, when he hit 46 balls from 39 balls.

Sri Lanka, undefeated in the group stage, were in full swing in the semi-finals when Dilshan’s 96 not from 57 balls helped them qualify for the final against Pakistan.

Happy birthday Dilshan!
14 Oct 20

Dilshan hits 96* of 57 vs West Indies | T20WC 2009 Semifinals

Tillakaratne Dilshan put on a show with the racquet in the 2009 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup semifinals against West Indies. Check out the innings here!

Mahela Jayawardena (2010 World T20 Championship)

Jayawardena, a veteran fighter in Sri Lanka’s ranks, announced his arrival with a bang in the opening game, where he smashed 81 of 51 balls against New Zealand. However, his efforts were in vain as New Zealand won by two wickets.

After that, the opening batter of Sri Lanka’s first and only century of the T20 World Cup, scored 100 of 64 deliveries against Zimbabwe. He then completed a fifty-plus point hat-trick while still close to scoring another hundred, missing it by two runs against the West Indies.

Unfortunately, a string of low scores in the second half of the tournament hurt Sri Lanka’s chances of reaching the final.

Also Read :  Fortune's 2022 Change the World list features business at its best

Shane Watson (2012 T20 World Championship)

The 2012 edition showed Watson at his destructive best as he was crowned Player of the Tournament.

Despite the heavy load with the ball, his performance with the racquet remained unchecked. The all-rounder registered 249 runs at 49.80 and a batting ratio of 150 in the batting opening, including three fifties.

In Australia’s first encounter, Watson scored a brilliant 51 from 30 balls. The fiery form continued with a quick 41* from 24 balls followed by a dominating 72 from 42 deliveries against India. His heyday continued in the subsequent game against South Africa, where he made another half century.

However, his efforts could only help Australia advance to the semi-finals where they lost to eventual champions West Indies.

Apr 13 22

Player of the Tournament: The Best of Shane Watson from the 2012 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli (T20 World Championship 2014)

During the 2014 edition of the tournament, India batsman Virat Kohli was at his best. Kohli proved a formidable force against which the opposition had no response.

In just six games, Kohli amassed 319 runs spanning four half-centuries. His runs were completed with an amazing 106.33 average and a consistent batting average of 129.14.

However, Kohli’s contribution to India’s effort to secure a second ICC men’s T20 World Cup Trophy fell short in the final against Sri Lanka, where he hit 77 runs from 58 balls that stood out among the rest.

Tamim Iqbal (T20 World Championship 2016)

The Bangladeshi southpaw had a memorable tournament that established him as a dangerous white ball batter. The fireworks of his blade secured Bangladesh’s qualification for the Super 10 phase of the tournament.

He opened the innings with flamboyance and hard-hitting intent. In the first match against the Netherlands, Iqbal played an 83* hand that won the match.

However, the high point of his campaign was the century against Oman. Iqbal played a dominant role by setting up a high goal with a score of 103 from 63 balls.

Unfortunately, Bangladesh didn’t make it to the group stage and lost all their games.

13 Mar 16

Highlights of Tamim Iqbal’s Sound, Ban v Oman

Watch Tamim Iqbal’s innings run for Bangladesh against Oman in this ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 Match 12 video.

Babar Azam (T20 World Championship 2021)

Class, consistency and shine. Whenever Azam went out to bat, audiences were mesmerized by his graceful movements and ability to shift between gears.

Azam scored a crucial half-century with an unbeaten 152 partnership with Mohammad Rizwan in Pakistan’s maiden win over India at the T20 World Cup.

The opener scored three more fifties before Pakistan were beaten by Australia in a thrilling contest in the semi-finals.

Babar shares the record with Virat Kohli (2014) and Hayden (2007) of having scored the most half centuries (four) in a single edition of the tournament.

03 Nov 21

Babar Azam’s best so far in the T20 World Championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.